Dysphagia Diet: What Are The Three Different Dysphagia Diet Levels?

A dysphagia diet is a condition of difficulty in swallowing the foods. If not treated proper, it can result to choking and weight loss. Some of the common causes of this disease are head and neck injury, stroke, multiple sclerosis, congestive heart failure, Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease and esophageal trauma.

3 Different Levels Of Dysphagia Diet:

The texture of the foods need to be changed in order to help swallowing the food more easier for those people who are diagnosed with dysphagia. There are three different levels of Dysphagia diets, the level of diet will vary depends upon the person’s severity of dysphagia condition.

Dysphagia diet level-1:

This level-1 diet is for those people with moderate to severe difficulty in swallowing.

  • You can take pureed food which is easily stays together and smooth in this diet.
  • Avoid foods that require chewing.
  • Avoid dry and coarse textures foods, raw vegetables and fruits, nuts and breads.
  • Add high nutritional dense and calorie foods like cheese sauce, butter milk and gravy in this diet.
  • Consuming less meal frequently can help to increase your food intake

Dysphagia diet level-2:

This diet is just a step up from the level-1 pureed diet. Here, you can include moderate foods that require chewing. This diet is for those people suffering dysphagia mildly to moderate condition

  • This level-2 diet consist of moist and soft foods, and foods that are formed into a bolus easily.
  • Avoid foods that are very dry, coarse and difficult to chew.
  • Meats should be minced and moisten with gravies and sauces.

Dysphagia diet level 3:

This level-3 diet is one step down from normal regular diet and is recommend for those people who have mild problems in swallowing.

  • This diet is is as normal regular foods that you take,except very crunchy and hard sticky foods
  • Foods need to be moist and cut into pieces as per your convenience.

Comments are closed.